Second Athenian Sea league

The League of about 70 city-states was organized by Athens in 378-377 BC after the Corinthian War. It followed the same model as the First Athenian Sea League – the council of the allies (synedrion) met in Athens but was independent from the Athenian state. Again there were contributions in money from the allies, which […]

First Athenian Sea league

Athenian-Delian League (Delian Symmachia or Confederacy of Delos) – alliance formed during the Greco-Persian Wars 478 – 477 BC between Athens on one hand and the Greek city-states in Anatolia and the Aegean region on the other. This federation of over 200 sea city-states under the leadership of Athens was organized with the purpose to […]